19-Something Challenge #4

This challenge is sponsored by P.S. Annie! It’s called 19-Something,where participants answer a question about there past each day of September. Sounds like a fun way to spend a September, right? Click on the badge following the post to go to today’s question and answers from other blogs!! 

  1. Did you have a sports hero? Who was he or she and what was their sport?

The only sport hero I ever had was Secretariat, winner of the Triple Crown.Cog_Color_Stretch_HR1

Sec-head-HC1I dreamed of owning him.

red-3He was the 1973 Triple Crown Winner. I had just been moved from Mississippi to Virginia by my father (the rest of the family came too) and had to leave my own horse behind. I swore I would never speak to him again. Of course as a 13-year-old those types of promises are normal! Anyway, Secretariat was very special to me during such a difficult transition. My horse, Keyno, was red (Secretariat’s color), had white socks and a white blaze. 

sec_timecoverMA few years ago I turned to Ebay to hunt down the Time Magazine Secretariat cover. I spent $50 for it – and don’t regret it!

secretariatangel1Big Red is running free in Heaven!! Maybe one day when I’m there I’ll get a chance to ride him! (Hey, a girl can dream!)

believe in your dreams

4 thoughts on “19-Something Challenge #4

  1. This is a great post! I’m so sorry that you had to leave your horse behind. That is very sad. Secretariat was a beautiful horse and one of the few race horses that I can remember the name of. The other one is Seabiscuit. I think that horses are beautiful creatures, especially the reddish ones in a field of yellow flowers on a bright, sunny day.
    Have a blessed day!

    Like

  2. Secretariat was an amazing athlete – good choice! Hope you’re having a wonderful Labor Day weekend!

    Like

  3. I am sorry you had to leave your horse behind, that must have been very hard. Would you believe that I have never been on a horse? I think they are beautiful though, there is a restaurant in the next town that has a horse sanctuary attached and I love to visit those horses.

    Like

  4. Good choice for a sports hero! I always wanted a horse. So awful that you had to leave yours when you moved.

    Like

Leave a Reply

