19-Somethin’ #17

This challenge is sponsored by P.S. Annie! It’s called 19-Somethin’, where participants answer a question about their past each day of September. Sounds like a fun way to spend a September, right?

19-Somethin_Sidebar_Button

  1. Do you remember where you were and/or what you were doing when the Space Shuttle Challenger exploded? This happened on 28 January 1986.  Were there any big events going on in your personal life at the time?

I was walking through the living room of the home I shared with a mom and her two kids. They weren’t there at the time but the TV was on, I had just come in from work and the news was on. I was shocked and so saddened –  and then the local evening news came on and they didn’t even mention the disaster!! I was so angry I called them! The station sent me a letter  saying that they covered only local news and not national. That has changed now – with all our local channels carrying national and local.

I bought a copy of these magazines and still have them – the images are so powerful, at least to me.

challenger-newsweek

challenger-time

2 thoughts on “19-Somethin’ #17

  1. That was good of you to call the news station. They should have reported something like this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree. Those are powerful images. It gave me cold chills just looking at them. It was an awful, sad day.

    I am surprised that your local channel didn’t cover it. It was on every channel in our area. There was no escaping the sad scene, over and over again.

    You did a good thing calling them on it!

    Thanks for participating in the 19-Somethin’ challenge. Have a blessed Sunday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

