Sunshine Blogger Award

Way back in September, P.S. Annie nominated me for the Sunshine Blogger Award, and with apologies to her, I am only now posting about it! I’m sorry it’s taken so long, but better late than never!!!

The Sunshine Blogger Award recognizes bloggers who are positive and creatively inspiring. Thank you for thinking of me!!

sunshine_blogger_award_photo

Rules:

*Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.
*Answer the eleven questions sent by the person who nominated you.
*Nominate eleven other bloggers, adding their links and asking them eleven new questions.
*Notify the bloggers you have nominated.

Here are Annie’s questions and my answers!

1. For the ladies: Are you a girly-girl or a tomboy?

tumblr_m4i1bggcm31qjw7wwo1_500I’m really neither. I hate to dress-up, don’t wear make-up or fix my hair. But I don’t like sports or anything tomboyish either.

2. How did your parents choose your name? Do you like it?

stock-vector-word-cloud-containing-most-popular-baby-boy-and-girl-names-in-the-usa-shaped-as-a-144648947 I don’t know how my parents chose my name. I liked it alright but in 1996 I legally changed it to what it is now. I had made a significant change in my life and I wanted my name to reflect that change.

3. What was your favorite subject in high school?

pusheen craftArt, but my father said I couldn’t make a career in art so that was out. My second favorite was English.

4. What do you do to pass the time while you’re waiting? (At the school, doctor’s office, etc.)

bookI carry a book (a real book, not an e-reader) everywhere I go so I read.

5. Do you live in the city or the country? Which do you prefer?

new riverI live in the suburbs. I would like to try big city living if I had a cool loft in an ex-industrial space, but I would prefer living in the country with lots of room to be alone with nature.

6. What was your most memorable meal?

thanks danaEvery Thanksgiving is my most memorable meal. I love how we always have the traditional favorites – some foods are only cooked for that one meal for the whole year. Love Thanksgiving more than any other holiday.

7. What was your happiest moment this week?

happy catIt always Friday at 5:30 pm. I have two days free of work obligations and I love it.

8. Do you have the job that is your life’s passion? If not, what is that passion and what is keeping you from doing it?

art-20clip-20art-xtgrljgtaNo, I hate what I do. I’m very appreciative of the job but I hate it. My passion is art and creating it. Not wanting to be homeless and hungry prevents me from quitting and going into art full time.

9. What types/genre of books do you like to read? Do you prefer to read via e-reader or a real book?

one-world-many-storiesA real book, always and forever. I prefer youth or young adult fiction. I read mainly adventure and mystery novels.

10. What is the most interesting story that you know from your family’s history?

plowingMy grandfather liked to tell about his dad, Grandpa Jones, who would plow the fields in his long underwear (behind a hand-held plow pulled by a mule) and in the hot Mississippi sun he would sweat so much that the long underwear would become soaked. The wind would feel cooler as it blew. He also told that they would only go to town once a month because even though they only lived 8 miles outside of Ethel, Mississippi, because it would take two days to get there in a wagon pulled by an ox.

11. If you woke up with a million dollars in your hands tomorrow, what would you do?

paycheck2Pay off my debts. Pay off my mom’s debts. Pay off my sister’s debts. If I had any money left over then give some to local shelters and rescue organizations and set the rest aside so I can actually retire before I’m dead.

The next thing I’m supposed to do is nominate 11 other bloggers and ask them 11 questions. Knowing how busy I am and how busy other bloggers are and how wonderful you all are, I don’t like to pick and choose, so consider yourselves nominated! And, I’m going to grab Annie’s questions ask you to answer them if you want.

Thanks again, P.S. Annie!

2 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Thank you. You have nothing to apologize for. The awards take me awhile, too. I agree; better late than never. 🙂

    I’m sorry that your daddy discouraged your pursuit of art. I think that we can make a go of a lot of things that others think are not viable career paths. David’s daddy wouldn’t allow him to take sound engineering at a tech school, which would have been cheaper and faster than through a university. David also had the chance at going to paramedic school with a scholarship type program that wouldn’t have cost him much, if anything. His daddy said no to that, too, saying that he couldn’t make any money being a paramedic. I think that, yes, we need money to survive, but there are things far more important than having mansions and a zillion cars. Happiness in what you’re doing is important, too. I was never faced with this type of things. My parents didn’t tell me what to be when I grew up. Daddy just wanted me to graduate college (sorry, Daddy) and Mama just wanted me to get out of her house. They let me choose my own major.

    I prefer the country, too, and hope to be back in the woods again some day. 🙂 What kind of house would you like in the country? I think the idea of ex-industrial lofts is a cool idea, too, and if I lived in the city, I think I’d like that kind of a home. But, I want to be as far from the city as possible.

    I feel the exact same way about Thanksgiving! It has always been my favorite.

    Are you marketing your artwork anywhere as you continue with your regular job? I’m sorry that you’re in a job that you hate. There has to be a way to sell your art that will allow you to live without a job you hate.

    I prefer real books, too. 🙂

    That is a very interesting story about your great-grandpa. It makes me wonder how many other folks plowed in their longjohns. haha

    I think that your million dollar plans are great, very thoughtful. Being able to retire before death is ideal. So many people don’t make it or they die the week they retire. That is very depressing!

    Thanks for participating in this award. Have a wonderful day!

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your award- you deserve it. I enjoyed learning more about you, I wish you could have more time to work on your art. XO

    Like

Leave a Reply

