Weekly Weather: Hurricane

For this round of Weekly Weather collages I decided to do another atlas as my base. However, the pages/signatures came apart from the binding so I’ll be doing each two page spread separately and when I come to the end of the year or when we start repeating the weather topics, I’ll bind them all together.

This weeks topic is Hurricane (is a rapidly rotating storm system characterized by a low-pressure center, a closed low-level atmospheric circulation, strong winds, and a spiral arrangement of thunderstorms that produce heavy rain. Depending on its location and strength, a tropical cyclone is referred to by names such as hurricane , typhoon, tropical storm, cyclonic storm, tropical depression, and simply cyclone. A hurricane is a storm that occurs in the Atlantic Ocean and northeastern Pacific Ocean, a typhoon occurs in the northwestern Pacific Ocean, and a cyclone occurs in the south Pacific or Indian Ocean.)

Because hurricanes happen primarily in the tropics, I chose a lot of palm tree scenes – with a few stormy seas thrown into the mix. A couple of upside-down sailboats and waves crashing over some birdhouses remind me that even as I live in a coastal area, every year without a hurricane means another sigh of relief of not having to evacuate and/or worry about flooding. Not so with my sister whose house has been flooded due to a storm. 

 

ww calender

One thought on “Weekly Weather: Hurricane

  1. Good job, I like the fish on the wave.

    Like

Leave a Reply

